The Inauguration of Delta State University’s Eighth President

On Friday, November 1, 2013 at 10:30 a.m., a congregation of faculty, staff, students, alumni, delegates, and friends from around the globe joined together in communal unity to inaugurate William N. LaForge as the eighth president of Delta State University.  The stately ceremony culminated a weeklong celebration of excellence in tribute to Delta State’s distinct, rich history and enthusiastic future.  The ceremony featured United States Senator Thad Cochran as the keynote speaker and the past four presidents of Delta State as honored guest; Aubrey Lucas, Kent Wyatt, David Potter, and John Hilpert.

Inauguration Week was celebrated each day by a different college or school within the university — hosting a colloquium of distinguished speakers from across the country and featuring a wide array of scholarly, student and community activities. The festive week reflected Delta State’s commitment to academic excellence and student and community engagement and was a perfect prelude to the highly anticipated investiture.

President LaForge is an alumnus of Delta State and a native to Cleveland, Mississippi. He brings to his presidency over thirty years of experience which span government, law, business, higher education, and public policy. His strong commitment to Delta State has been apparent since his first day in the office, and his era will continue the legacy of the LaForge name.